Hospitality Awards 2023

AA Chefs' Chef of the Year

Paul Ainsworth 

Award sponsored by

About the award                                                                                                                                                                                                            

A popular and coveted title, this unique award, introduced in 1996, offers all AA Rosette-awarded chefs the chance to decide which of their peers deserves the ultimate recognition of their performance over the past twelve months.

Paul Ainsworth 

Hailing from Southampton, Paul studied catering and hospitality at his local college and was soon working in some of London's best kitchens, starting in 1998 with Gary Rhodes, later working with Gordon Ramsay and Marcus Wareing.

After eight years in London, Paul moved to Padstow to work at No 6, and fell in love with Cornwall. Together with his wife Emma, they took over the business relaunching it as Paul Ainsworth at No 6. Since then, business has boomed. 2010 saw a second Padstow site at Caffè Rojano, 2014 brought the Padstow Townhouse, and in 2019 they took over the lease at the Mariners Pub in Rock.

Paul is a TV regular, appearing on Saturday Kitchen, MasterChef and Great British Menu, among others. Popular among his peers, he's modest, humble and passionate about hospitality, so it's no surprise he's been voted as this year's Chefs' Chef.

Previous Winners

2023- Paul Ainsworth 

2022 - Mark Birchall

2019 – Jason Atherton
2018 – Claude Bosi
2017 – John Williams MBE
2016 – Simon Rogan
2015 – Daniel Clifford
2014 – Nathan Outlaw
2013 – Tom Kerridge
2012 – Pierre Koffmann
2011 – Chris & Jeff Galvin
2010 – Martin Wishart
2009 – Marcus Wareing
2008 – Philip Howard
2007 – Michael Caines MBE
2006 – Andrew Fairlie
2005 – Germain Schwab
2004 – Raymond Blanc OBE
2003 – Michel Roux OBE
2002 – Shaun Hill
2001 – Heston Blumenthal OBE
2000 – Marco Pierre White
1999 – Rick Stein OBE
1998 – Kevin Viner
1997 – Jean Christophe Novelli
1996 – Gordon Ramsay OBE