Hospitality Awards 2023

AA Restaurant of the Year Scotland

About the award

Each year the AA independently inspects hundreds of restaurants across the British Isles. Introduced in 2000, this award recognises restaurants that provide cuisine of a truly excellent standard, as well as demonstrating innovation and ambience and providing a high standard of hospitality.

Cail Bruich, Glasgo

Cail Bruich was opened in 2008 by brothers Paul and Chris Charalambous. The name loosely translates as 'Good Cooking' which is something of an understatement. Lorna McNee is the current head chef, having moved here in 2020 after winning the Great British Menu in 2019.

The food is seasonal, and foraging features alongside the use of small producing farmers, fish suppliers and butchers. The single tasting menu format continually changes allowing plenty of originality and creativity to shine through.

A complete refurbishment in early 2023 embraced the natural light. Celtic greys and silver mix with wooden floors and detailing, crisp white cloths, some open brick, and smart green uniforms. Service is professional and crisp, all with a definite Scottish accent.

Previous Winners

2023- Cail Bruich 

2022 - The Cellar

2019 – Sugar Boat
2018 – The Newport Restaurant 
2017 – The Dining Room
2016 – Inver
2015 – The Gannet
2014 – Timberyard
2013 – Ondine Restaurant
2012 – Rogano
2011 – Gordon’s
2010 – The Peat Inn
2009 – Plumed Horse
2008 – The Kitchin