Hospitality Awards 2022

AA Chefs' Chef of the Year

Mark Birchall

Award sponsored by

About the award

A popular and coveted title, this unique award, introduced in 1996, offers all AA Rosette-awarded chefs the chance to decide which of their peers deserves the ultimate recognition of their performance over the past twelve months.

Mark Birchall

Mark Birchall is, without doubt, one of Britain’s most talented chefs, and given his impressive pedigree and achievements, it comes as no surprise that he is so highly regarded by his peers. Born in Chorley, Lancashire, Mark trained at Runshaw College. 

Previously Executive Chef of L’Enclume, Mark won the Roux Scholarship in 2011. Since opening five years ago, he has established Moor Hall as one of the UK’s best restaurants, achieving five AA Rosettes, and an additional three AA Rosettes for the Barn. Every detail is carefully considered and rather special, from uniforms to waiters’ stations.

There’s an on-site butchery, a bakery, temperature-controlled cheese and wine rooms, and a garden full of wonderful produce. Mark has created a true international foodie destination here, and his cooking offers a very modern take on British flavours, where the natural flavour and freshness of the produce is paramount.

Previous Winners

2022 - Mark Birchall

2019 – Jason Atherton
2018 – Claude Bosi
2017 – John Williams MBE
2016 – Simon Rogan
2015 – Daniel Clifford
2014 – Nathan Outlaw
2013 – Tom Kerridge
2012 – Pierre Koffmann
2011 – Chris & Jeff Galvin
2010 – Martin Wishart
2009 – Marcus Wareing
2008 – Philip Howard
2007 – Michael Caines MBE
2006 – Andrew Fairlie
2005 – Germain Schwab
2004 – Raymond Blanc OBE
2003 – Michel Roux OBE
2002 – Shaun Hill
2001 – Heston Blumenthal OBE
2000 – Marco Pierre White
1999 – Rick Stein OBE
1998 – Kevin Viner
1997 – Jean Christophe Novelli
1996 – Gordon Ramsay OBE