Hospitality Awards 2022

AA Hotel of the Year Scotland

Award sponsored by

About the award

Introduced in 1992, this award is the AA’s ultimate accolade for hotels in the UK. It is awarded to hotels that are recognised as being outstanding examples in their particular market. From the small family-run hotel to the most ambitious commercial ventures, hotels of every size and style are potential winners.

The Balmoral, Scotland

This Edinburgh landmark hotel has really redefined itself as one of Scotland’s finest in recent years through both significant investment and the impact of general manager Richard Cooke.

Physically, bedrooms and public areas have been beautifully refurbished to a very high standard, where Balmoral tartan, Hebridean blues, heather hues and classic Scottish art create a wonderful look and feel.

The professional team have continued to enhance and improve the guest experience further with natural, relaxed hospitality and service detail underpinning this approach. No 1, 4 AA Rosettes, remains a wonderful, gastronomic dining experience whilst the Brasserie Prince offers a French-Scottish bistro fare within relaxed and chic setting.

The Palm Court provides a sumptuous setting for lounge and afternoon tea service. The Whisky bar has a more than impressive selection of malts which just keeps on growing

Previous Winners

2022 - The Balmoral

2019 – The Gleneagles Hotel
2018 – Old Course Hotel and Golf Resort
2017 – Douneside House
2016 – Cromlix Hotel
2015 – Rufflets Hotel
2014 – Meldrum House Country Hotel, Aberdeen
2013 – Cringletie
2012 – The Torridon
2011 – Blythswood Square
2010 – Boath House
2009 – The Gleneagles Hotel
2008 – Norton House Hotel