Hospitality Awards 2022

AA Lifetime Achievement Award

About the award

The AA Lifetime Achievement Award, introduced in 2006, recognises professionals within the hospitality industry who have committed their lives to the pursuit of perfection within their discipline. Winners of this award are to be congratulated for making significant fundamental contributions to the industry which have had a notable impact, and must have demonstrated a lifetime commitment to progress in their field.

John Williams MBE

A native of South Shields, John Williams began his career as an apprentice at the Percy Arms in Northumberland but set his sights on the capital from an early age. He joined The Savoy Group in 1986, spending time in the kitchens both at The Savoy and Claridge’s.

In 2004 he arrived at The Ritz, where he is Executive Head Chef of all culinary operations, and where he won four AA Rosettes. He was named AA Chefs' Chef in 2017. His dedication to his profession and craft has seen a host of other awards, including the Craft Guild of Chefs Award and full Liveryman of the Worshipful Company of Cooks.

He has represented the UK in the prestigious Bocuse D’Or culinary competition and continues to mentor the English team. He was the first British chef to be recognised with a CMA by the French Government and in 2008 was presented with an MBE for his services to hospitality.

John is Chairman and Trustee of the Royal Academy of Culinary Arts which aligns with his passion for excellence and the promotion of his craft as one of the best professional careers.

Previous Winners

2022 - John Williams MBE

2019 – Robin Sheppard
2018 – John Stauss
2017 – Philippe Rossiter
2016 – Pierre Koffmann
2015 – Robin Hutson
2014 – Ruth Rogers MBE
2013 – Harry Murray MBE
2012 – Antonio Carluccio OBE
2011 – Peter Lederer CBE
2010 – George Goring OBE
2009 – Raymond Blanc OBE
2008 – Rick Stein OBE