Hospitality Awards 2023

AA Hotel of the Year Scotland

About the award

Introduced in 1992, this award is the AA’s ultimate accolade for hotels in the UK. It is awarded to hotels that are recognised as being outstanding examples in their particular market. From the small family-run hotel to the most ambitious commercial ventures, hotels of every size and style are potential winners.

Fingal, Edinburgh 

It’s not often that a truly unique hotel comes along, but Fingal is just that. This former lighthouse tender ship had a long career around the wild Scottish coasts, ferrying lighthouse keepers and essential supplies for the Northern Lighthouse Board. Now retired to Leith Docks and transformed into a luxury floating hotel, it marries glamour and elegance in a way that only yachts or ships can.

Fingal is operated by the Royal Yacht Britannia Trust, while HRH Princess Anne is a former passenger and now visitor to the hotel, which has 22 cabins and suites named after Scottish lighthouses. All show no little maritime ingenuity in their use of space. Plenty of luxury touches include rich cotton linens and quality toiletries. The high staff to guest ratio means lots of interaction and personalised service. Guests can explore the preserved engine room and enjoy lots of relaxation space on the decks.

Previous Winners

2023- Fingal 

2022 - The Balmoral

2019 – The Gleneagles Hotel
2018 – Old Course Hotel and Golf Resort
2017 – Douneside House
2016 – Cromlix Hotel
2015 – Rufflets Hotel
2014 – Meldrum House Country Hotel, Aberdeen
2013 – Cringletie
2012 – The Torridon
2011 – Blythswood Square
2010 – Boath House
2009 – The Gleneagles Hotel
2008 – Norton House Hotel